Posted by: annie | July 29, 2011

what an egg!

I’ve been doing my placement at a high school in one of the small towns in my area. The whole school has about 600 students. I’m working in the student centre (check out my NZ spelling) with the social worker, student advisor, and nurse. All really nice women. I’m having a good experience working with the students and co-facilitating groups. One weekend I went out for drinkies with a group of teachers after work in what might be the only bar in town which they opened early so the teachers could get in there for some drinkies (yes I used it again cause I think it’s funny)

Spending so much time in a college (high school) exposes me to lots of new zealand sayings, slang, and teen speak. Some of them not appropriate for sharing on this blog. College used in place of high school has been one of the harder ones to get in my brain. I’ve made heaps of references to college in the last year and a half that I don’t quite remember so who knows how those got interpreted. There might some people out there who think I had a pretty wild time in high school. I think being called an egg is so silly, I can’t pick this one up either. An egg is the equivalent of an American dork. Lots of the kids I work with are just hoping that they’re not big eggs. Here are some things students have asked me for:

some ream

twink

a viva

a felt

a plaster

Oh and they call me Miss first. How cute. I  love being called Miss. “Miss, can I have a plaster?” I had no idea what any of those things were and the kids never knew the american word so they’d have to try to explain what loose leaf paper was (a ream), white out (twink), permanent marker (viva), regular marker (felt), and a band-aid (plaster). It was pretty funny. Them thinking I was a little slow and me trying to figure out what the heck they wanted.

It’s midwinter here and I started feeling like all the winter holidays should be right around the corner. Apparently, I wasn’t the only one. The grocery stores started selling midwinter christmas treats. I came across a magazine article discussing the current trend of hosting midwinter holiday gatherings. My place is way to small for that, so I just made pumpkin pie for the ladies at work. They don’t have canned pumpkin here so they were made from scratch. A few of my co-workers had their first piece of pumpkin pie. It was a big hit and even those who scrunched their faces in confusion over the idea of a sweet pumpkin treat were won over.

Months ago I took a road trip with Sarah and her friend to Coromandel which is a few hours drive east from Auckland. I was most excited about Hot Water Beach. Here’s why: “An underground river of hot water flows from the interior of the earth to surface in the Pacific Ocean at Hot Water Beach. “Two hours either side of low tide visitors flock to the usually deserted Hot Water Beach to find hot water bubbling through the golden sand.  Families, kids  and couples can been seen digging their own spa pool in the sand to lie back in and relax while the steam from their hot pool envelops them.”

YAY! Hot Water Beach (I loved it here):

we were jealous of these guys. great idea

The other big attraction is Cathedral Cove. A filming site for Narnia. Here are two pics from the hike.

a tui bird

After walking the lovely trail that leads to the area on the beach which is Cathedral Cove we found this

I didn’t feel like climbing down there, it was muddy and seemed a little dangerous. I can go back another time. Sarah’s friend from England was really excited get down there so I can show you her photos.

Ok, well that’s it for now. I have more pics from this trip that I’ll get up next time. Hopefully, I won’t take so long to post again. My placement is ending soon so I’ll have more time for blogging as I try to avoid doing my school work.

Responses

  1. Enjoyed the pics, & what a great place the cove was, I can see why they filmed Narnia there……loved the hot puddles!!

  2. Loved the hot puddles and the cove….what a great place to film Narnia…..wish I was there right now!! They do have some wierd sayings don’t they?

  3. those sayings are so funny. here we say things like “he’s a good egg” which would sound terrible to those kids. you are not an NZ egg, but you are a good american egg my friend. also interesting, tink in knitting speak means to un-knit your stitches (its knit spelled backwards).

    so glad you posted! keep it up lady.


Leave a Reply

Categories

